Taylor Hooton Foundation > Hoot’s Corner > General > Zimbabwe rugby player banned for supplying steroids
May 8, 2014
Zimbabwe rugby player banned for supplying steroids
International Rugby Board: May 7, 2014 – Former Zimbabwe Under 20 player Shane Joubert has been suspended for a period of six years having been found to contravene the IRB’s anti-doping regulations linked to his supply of banned substances to two members of the 2012 Zimbabwe Under 20 team.
Simbarashe Michael Chirara and Dylan Coetzee were found to have committed anti-doping rule violations after samples they provided prior to the 2012 Junior World Rugby Trophy in Salt Lake City, USA, returned adverse analytical findings for the presence of nandrolone, an anabolic androgenic steroid. Each of them received two-year bans and both players identified Joubert as their supplier. Chirara’s ban was later reduced by six months under a provision within IRB regulations (21.22.6).
Joubert was subsequently charged in relation to trafficking or attempted trafficking; administration or attempted administration; use or attempted use; and possession of prohibited substances.
As a member of the Zimbabwe Under 20 team for the IRB Junior World Rugby Trophy the previous year (2011), Joubert had signed the team member consent form for that tournament. As such, the player thereby specifically and formally acknowledged the application of the IRB anti-doping regulations and the IRB’s jurisdiction over him in relation to anti-doping.
On September 8, 2013, Joubert provided a signed statement to the IRB admitting obtaining and using “steroids” and supplying them to Coetzee and Chirara.
A three-person judicial committee found that each of the charges laid against Joubert was proved and imposed on him a period of ineligibility of six years, commencing on December 13, 2012 (the date that the Union sent the notice of provisional suspension to him) and ending on December 12, 2018.
The hearing was conducted on a written record. Joubert did not participate although he was duly notified of his right to do so. The judicial committee consisted of Graeme Mew (Canada, chairman), Dr George Ruijsch van Dugteren (South Africa) and Gregor Nicholson (Scotland).